



SIERRA LEONE PARLIAMENT OAU Drive, Tower Hill, Freetown

PRESS RELEASE

06th November, 2014

PARLIAMENT APPROVES SIX (6) PRESIDENTIAL NOMINEES

The Parliamentary Committee on Appointments and the Public Service has presented its 19th Report to the plenary on Thursday 06th November, 2014 for the ratification of Six Presidential Nominees who were successfully interviewed based on their track records, tax obligations, and visionary tenure if approved by Parliament. The Committee is charged with the responsibility of vetting the suitability of Presidential Nominees; and constitutes 16-Members including 9 APC, 6 SLPP, and 1 Paramount Chief. Representation in a Committee depends on the strength of the political party in Parliament cognizant of independent candidates.

The following Presidential Nominees were approved by Parliament through collection of voices:

- 1. Mr. Moses Sesay- Chairman, Sierra Leone Ports Authority
- 2. Mrs. Fatmata S. Mustapha-Member, Electricity Generation and Transmission Company
- 3. Miss. Patricia Ganda- Member, Independent Media Commission
- 4. Mr. Dauda Musa Bangura- Member, Independent Media Commission
- 5. Mr. Francis Sowa- Member, Independent Media Commission
- 6. Mr. James S.E Williams- Member, Independent Media Commission

In the spirit of the proviso of section 57 of Act No. 6 of the 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone, nominees duly approved by Parliament will enter their official functions after they had taken and subscribed to an oath administered by H.E the President, Dr. Ernest Bai Koroma as inscribed in the Third Schedule of the said 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone.

In another development, a motion of thanks had been moved and seconded by the Majority and Minority Leaders of the House to appreciate the international/local communities, and friends for their support in the fight against the Ebola Virus Disease in the country. This motion is being currently debated in the House.

Parliament had also announced and ratified the composition of the Special Select Committee on Ebola Funds and Activities which had been moved and seconded by the Majority and Minority Leaders of Parliament pursuant to Section 93 sub-sections 1, 2, 3, and 4 of Act No. 6 of the 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone.

Department of Public Relations Parliament of Sierra Leone OAU Drive, Tower Hill Freetown Tel: 077669726/078495023